My my My my


Hamann Award

At the end of each season, Novato Little League North selects one player in the Majors to receive the Ed Hamann Sportsmanship Award. The award is based on good sportsmanship, a positive attitude, a willingness to help others, and being a team player. It has been presented to Little League players in Novato since the 1970's.
Ed Hamann (1919-1971) was a long-time Little League and Babe Ruth coach in the 1960's and 1970's in Novato. In addition to coaching, he was also a volunteer firefighter in Novato and a Seabee in World War II. After he passed away in 1971, the Olive field was built in 1972 and named after him. The good sportsmanship award was created soon after that and was also named in his honor. It has been an integral part of Little League every year.
All 12-year olds, 2 coaches per team, and each manager all vote for a 12-year-old Hamann winner not from their own team.  The highest vote getter from each team is recognized, as is the overall winner.

NLLN Hamann Award Recipients

Year Recipient (Majors Division)
2018 Jake Simpson
2017 Josh Martin
2016 Charlie Allen
2015 Bella DeRuvo
2014 Parker Allen & Frank Donnelly (co-winners)
2013 Matt Lozovoy
2012 Jacob Kennedy & Christian Pedersen-Seaman (co-winners)
2011 Julian Villamante
2010 Scott Sheron
2009 Ricky McCloskey
2008 Nick Baxter
2007 Ryan Browne
2006 James Richter
2005 Dominic Petrini
2004 Fumi Kojima
2003 Joe Fonfara
2002 David Ashburn
2001 Sean Zircle
2000 Cliff Bachmeier and Billy Nicolini (co-winners)
1999 Ben Hoedt
1998 Marshall McCollum
1997 Dave Hoffmire
1996 Robert Gerrans